Ampthill Twining Association Logo


The Twinning Charter

In the historic setting of the Old Court House on the 25th June 2010, Ampthill Town Council signed the Twinning Charter with Nissan Lez Enserune a village in the Languedoc Roussillon area of France. The Mayor of Nissan-Lez-Ensérune, M. Pierre Cros, signed the twinning agreement with the then Mayor of Ampthill, Mrs Margaret Wilson. The ceremony was attended by Ampthill Town Councillors and four visiting Nissan Councillors as well as many residents of the town.

Click here to view the Charter Parchment 

Twinning Sign in Nissan Lez Enserune

Aims of the Association

While the town twinning is an official partnership of the two communities, the Ampthill Twinning Association is a voluntary body separate from the Ampthill Town Council and run through its own fundraising.

The aim is to be an open and friendly association that hopes all people will feel welcome by:

  • Encouraging contact and friendship between individuals, groups and civic leaders in both towns;
  • Encouraging educational, cultural and commercial and social contacts and visits of all kinds;
  • Encouraging the use of the French language, especially by young people, by visiting and staying with families in Nissan-Lez-Enserune;
  • Promoting Ampthill and its surrounding areas to the people in Nissan-Lez-Enserune and making visitors from there welcome in our town and homes.
  • Aiming to help establish contacts between individuals and groups and assist in any way we can in arranging visits between the two towns by offering advice, reassurance and support.

Twinning Sign in Ampthill


Since the inception of the Twinning Association exchanges have been arranged with such Ampthill organisations as the Town Council, Local Schools, Local Sports Clubs and the Town Band. If your organisation is interested in arranging an exchange you should contact Stephen Todd at 

Twinning - French and UK Flags

Association Committee Members

  • Chair & Treasurer - Steve Todd
  • Deputy Chair - Pat Sherry
  • Secretary - Mike Glover
  • Membership Secretary - Chris Law